Posted by: duncandrews | March 14, 2009

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds

These words are a hymn by John Newton. I love its thoughtfulness, humility and deep desire for Jesus.

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds
in a believer’s ear!
It soothes his sorrows, heals his wounds,
and drives away his fear.

It makes the wounded spirit whole
and calms the troubled breast,
is manna to the hungry soul
and to the weary rest.

Dear name! the rock on which I build,
my shield and hiding place,
my never failing treasury, filled
with boundless stores of grace:

Jesus, my shepherd, brother, friend,
my prophet, priest and king,
my lord, my life, my way, my end,
accept the praise I bring.

Weak is the effort of my heart,
and cold my warmest thought;
but when I see thee as thou art
I’ll praise thee as I ought.

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds
in a believer’s ear!
It soothes his sorrows, heals his wounds,
and drives away his fear.

Music © Duncan Andrews and Moments Now and Then
Responses

  1. dunco… what a sweet surprise to hear your voice again… looking forward to hearing more thoughts and pluckings (and hopefully the odd cherp from Abi!)

    • cheers Laus 🙂 I’ll try to get Abi online soon…

  2. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

    • Thanks watcat – I appreciate that! incidentally, how did you find my blog?

  3. i like this very much. its a great blessing blog


Leave a Reply

Categories

