Posted by: duncandrews | March 27, 2009

Wonderful

the little lady at Clovelly

Oh my love, I wonder at you;
a falling leaf interrupts our walk,
you babble and point – I wish you could talk
and give words to the wonder behind your wide eyes
your face shining as you look to the skies.
You wonder at a leaf that falls;
my love, I wonder, I wonder at you.

Oh my love, I wonder at you;
with a hundred sounds you tell what you see,
incomprehensible, but not to me;
of a ball rolling, a bird winging,
of building blocks and daddy’s singing.
You wonder in your coos and calls,
my love, I wonder, I wonder at you.

Oh my love, I wonder at you;
I’d forgotten these things since I don’t know when
but you teach me to wonder again
at leaves and blocks and balls and birds;
you teach what I cannot put to words.
You wonder at things big and small;
my love, I wonder, I wonder at you.

“Oh my love, I wonder at you”
says he who wondered this world into being
and whose wonder as yet has its limits unseen.
“I dream of making you new, to be
my child, that you might wonder at me.
You wonder, keep wondering. May you never have your fill!
My love, be like me, for I wonder at you”.

(I wrote this a while ago, so it's a bit out of date... She says plenty of words now!)
Responses

  1. What a lovely poem! Dear little Abigail!

  2. Love that hat, too. I hope she never grows out of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

