Posted by: duncandrews | April 22, 2009

When I grow up I want to be…

freefoto.com

freefoto.com

Or, more to my point, when she grows up, what do I want my daughter to be? What sort of woman do I want her to become? What vision of her future inspires my actions and informs my prayers now in the present?

In the busyness of life, and in my own considerable uncertainty and anxiety as a parent, I find it too easy to just be reactive, just survive, respond to my daughter’s immediate needs in isolation and without a plan. But if my role is to raise, not just react, what is the goal I’m raising to?

Here’s my first draft. What have I left out? What would you put in?

I pray that the little lady becomes a grown-up lady who is:

a passionate lover of Jesus, secure in God’s fatherly love for her;
devoted in service to God’s Church, with a living and growing knowledge of and obedience to his word;
confident in loving relationships;
and able to make wise and godly life-decisions.

It’s pretty wordy. Help me make it better!

Leave a Reply

Categories

