Posted by: duncandrews | May 22, 2009

10 reasons why you SHOULD memorise Scripture…

A Rwandan boy and his bible by Samer! on Flickr

A Rwandan boy and his bible by Samer! on Flickr

Ok, so I’m on a bit of a bible-memorisation fix at the moment, which I’m hoping will last, roughly, the rest of my life. We’ll see! Anyway, here’s some reasons why I’ve taken it up. What are some others?

1. It’s, err…, God’s word.

2. It’s really not that hard. Really. The biggest barrier for me was the decision to start.

3. It’s wonderfully un-post-modern and un-Gen-Y

4. It’s, um… the word of God.

5. It stands in solidarity with generations of Christians who’ve seen memorising the bible as a central plank in their Christian lives. It listens to Chesterton’s ‘democracy of the dead’ which ‘refuses to submit to the small and arrogant oligarchy of those who merely happen to be walking about’ (Orthodoxy, p63).

6. It can help in a Doctrine exam. At least that’s what I’m hoping.

7. It’s, *ahem*… the word from God.

8. It’s something you can do washing the dishes, in the shower, on the bus, [fill in the blank]. Normal mindless tasks become moments of focussing on God and his word.

9. Colossians 3:16.I really should memorise that verse.

10. It is, well, *cough*, GOD’S WORD, silly!

That ‘silly’ was for me, by the way. I’m sure you’re not silly – it’s just I keep forgetting that the bible is … well, you know, the living, active, two-edged, roaring lionish, comforting, frightening, exposing, wonderful, gospel proclaiming, Jesus-glorifying, faith-enlivening, hope-giving, love-inspiring word of God.

Responses

  1. You sound like someone you’re related to, perhaps more than one!

  2. When I read Foxe’s book of Martyrs, I was amazed by how some of the English people had memorized pretty much the entire bible…including a blind woman!

    That would be awesome to do.

  3. Totally! Although I’m inching my way through Ephesians 1, so it might take a while…

  4. what a great encouragement! I have been through waves of memorising scripture over the years, and this encourages me, to get onto it once more. I only wish this was more emphasised in Sunday Schools, indeed, even in church we might have a memory verse each week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

