Posted by: duncandrews | June 4, 2009

By George!

Sun and Clouds Over Lake George in the Adirondacks

Lake George by Old Shoe Woman on Flickr

What do you think of when you hear the name George? Castanza?

Well, when I hear the name George, four people come to mind. I thought it might be fun to do a series on them, since they’re all named George (well, one of them wasn’t really), and they’ve all had an impact on my life in one way or the other. My Georges are Eliot, Handel, Macdonald and Herbert.

So, a woman who pretended to be a man, a man who wore a wig, a Scottish romantic and a Welsh poet. The plan is to write one-ish posts on each of them and how they’ve affected me.

Who are your Georges?

“I know how hard it is for you to put food on your family.”

– another famous George – guess who?

Responses

  1. Oh goodie! I so love Eliot, MacDonald and Herbert, and could probably use a little more Handel in my life.

    • “…could probably use a little more Handel in my life.”

      Couldn’t we all… He’s a genius!

      Nice to hear from you.

  2. I love Handel. Looking forward to this series.


Leave a Reply

Categories

