Posted by: duncandrews | March 19, 2010

Self-forgetfulness

You cannot forget before you firstly know,
and so with heavy heart and cautious mind,
anticipating the darkness I should find,
I ask that, Lord, to myself, myself you might show.

But, oh, dear Lord, gently, gently, please!
For to expose at once, I feel, would crush
every part of my soul and will beneath that rush
of regret and sorrow, the weight of my disease.

But even that plea shows that I don’t get
or grasp the force of your love given for me.
For ‘loved’ and ‘paid for’ is ever engraved at Calv’ry;
So, Lord, expose: and then I may forget.

© Duncan Andrews 2010

Responses

  1. I believe this is quotable, Dunc.


Leave a Reply

Categories

