Posted by: duncandrews | September 1, 2013

poem for a six year old: Spring

For me, Spring is bird-song,Image
blossom buds bursting out,
suddenly the world’s shout
that darkness is almost gone.
But there is more, too;
for me, Spring is you.

For me, Spring is a slanting sun,
a long-awaited irruption of light
and colour and sound and smell and sight;
hope fulfilled, and hope begun.
Something finished, something new,
for me, Spring is you.

Spring, for me, begins with laughter,
a memory of scrawny limbs and face,
sparkling gift of the Father’s grace,
a lovely joy, both now and after.
Yes, little one, it’s true:
for me, Spring is you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

